Max Verstappen's Body Type Suits His Driving Style

Buckle up, racing enthusiasts, as we embark on a journey through the twists and turns of F1 history. Since its inaugural race in 1950, the pinnacle of motorsport has witnessed the rise of legends. Out of this mix have emerged 73 F1 Champions.

With each passing year, the Formula 1 World Championship has crowned a new champion. Each has made an indelible mark on the annals of racing history. It starts with the pioneers who laid the foundation and finishes with to the modern gladiators. Each year they push the limits of technology and call on their massive skillset.

This article takes you through a comprehensive tour of all the F1 champions who have graced the podium. So, grab your metaphorical racing helmet and let’s rev up the engines as we look at the heroes of F1. Join us as we celebrate the best of the best.

All the F1 Champions Since 1950

The following is a list of all the F1 champions since the series start in 1950.

The F1 Champions of the 1950’s

1950Giuseppe Farina (ITA)n/a
1951Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)n/a
1952Alberto Ascari (ITA)n/a
1953Alberto Ascari (ITA)n/a
1954Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)n/a
1955Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)n/a
1956Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)n/a
1957Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)n/a
1958Mike Hawthorn (GBR)Vanwall
1959Jack Brabham (AUS)Cooper

The F1 Champions of the 1960s

Jack Brabham F1 Champions
1960Jack Brabham (AUS)Cooper
1961Phil Hill (USA)Ferrari
1962Graham Hill (GBR)BRM
1963Jim Clark (GBR)Lotus
1964John Surtees (GBR)Ferrari
1965Jim Clark (GBR)Lotus
1966Jack Brabham (AUS)Brabham
1967Denis Hulme (NZL)Brabham
1968Graham Hill (GBR)Lotus
1969Jackie Stewart (GBR)Matra

The F1 Champions of the 1970s

Japanese GP James Hunt And Nikki Lauda - F1 Champions
1970Jochen Rindt (AUT)Lotus
1971Jackie Stewart (GBR)Tyrrell
1972Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)Lotus
1973Jackie Stewart (GBR)Lotus
1974Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)McLaren
1975Niki Lauda (AUT)Ferrari
1976James Hunt (GBR)Ferrari
1977Niki Lauda (AUT)Ferrari
1978Mario Andretti (USA)Lotus
1979Jody Scheckter (RSA)Ferrari

The 1980s

1980Alan Jones (AUS)Williams
1981Nelson Piquet (BRA)Williams
1982Keke Rosberg (FIN)Ferrari
1983Nelson Piquet (BRA)Ferrari
1984Niki Lauda (AUT)McLaren
1985Alain Prost (FRA)McLaren
1986Alain Prost (FRA)Williams
1987Nelson Piquet (BRA)Williams
1988Ayrton Senna (BRA)McLaren
1989Alain Prost (FRA)McLaren

The 1990s

1990Ayrton Senna (BRA)McLaren
1991Ayrton Senna (BRA)McLaren
1992Nigel Mansell (GBR)Williams
1993Alain Prost (FRA)Williams
1994Michael Schumacher (GER)Williams
1995Michael Schumacher (GER)Benetton
1996Damon Hill (GBR)Williams
1997Jacques Villeneuve (CAN)Williams
1998Mika Häkkinen (FIN)McLaren
1999Mika Häkkinen (FIN)Ferrari

The F1 Champions of the 2000’s

Michael Schumacher's Contribution To The Sport
2000Michael Schumacher (GER)Ferrari
2001Michael Schumacher (GER)Ferrari
2002Michael Schumacher (GER)Ferrari
2003Michael Schumacher (GER)Ferrari
2004Michael Schumacher (GER)Ferrari
2005Fernando Alonso (SPA)Renault
2006Fernando Alonso (SPA)Renault
2007Kimi Räikkönen (FIN)Ferrari
2008Lewis Hamilton GBR)Ferrari
2009Jenson Button GBR)Red Bull Racing

2010 – 2019

F1 champions
2010Sebastian Vettel (GER)Red Bull Racing
2011Sebastian Vettel (GER)Red Bull Racing
2012Sebastian Vettel (GER)Red Bull Racing
2013Sebastian Vettel (GER)Red Bull Racing
2014Lewis Hamilton (GBR)Mercedes
2015Lewis Hamilton (GBR)Mercedes
2016Nico Rosberg (GER)Mercedes
2017Lewis Hamilton (GBR)Mercedes
2018Lewis Hamilton (GBR)Mercedes
2019Lewis Hamilton (GBR)Mercedes

The F1 Champions (2020 – onwards)

F1 Today - Max Austrian GP - F1 Countries
2020Lewis Hamilton (GBR)Mercedes
2021Max Verstappen (NED)Mercedes
2022Max Verstappen (NED)Red Bull Racing

Drivers Who Won Multiple F1 Championships

The following drivers have won multiple F1 championships.

DriverNo of
Years Won
Alain Prost51985, 1986, 1989, 1993, 1980
Alberto Ascari (ITA)21952, 1953
Ayrton Senna (BRA)31988, 1990, 1991
Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)21972, 1974
Fernando Alonso (SPA)22005, 2006
Graham Hill (GBR)21962 1968
Jack Brabham (AUS)31959, 1960, 1966
Jackie Stewart (GBR)31969, 1971, 1973
Jim Clark (GBR)21963, 1965
Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)51951, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957
Lewis Hamilton (GBR)72008, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Max Verstappen (NED)22021, 2022
Michael Schumacher (GER)71994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004
Mika Häkkinen (FIN)21998, 1999
Nelson Piquet (BRA)31981, 1983, 1987
Niki Lauda (AUT)31975, 1977, 1984
Sebastian Vettel (GER)42010, 2011, 2012, 2013


By Jonny Noble

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Jonny Noble I’m a dedicated F1 Writer – and I’ve Been One for Over Four Decades, I’ve been intimately immersed in the world of Formula One for more than 44 years. That’s longer than most professional commentators can boast! As an independent writer, I offer a unique perspective on the entire F1 landscape, free from biases that might cloud the discussion. We dive deep into the exhilarating, frustrating, and captivating facets of the F1 universe. So, regardless of my amateur status, one thing is undeniable: four decades of dedicated F1 fandom have forged strong opinions worth exploring!